These Books Will Make The Best Gifts This Season

Books, These Books Will Make The Best Gifts This Season

By Anderson McKean, Page & Palette Bookstore

As you are making your Christmas list and checking it twice, make sure it includes plenty of books! Given the crazy, unpredictable year we’ve all had, I can’t think of a better gift than a captivating novel to get lost in. The following recommendations offer something for everyone — engaging historical fiction, a mind-bending escape or just a heartwarming story to make them smile. Wrap one and keep one, giving the gift of reading to those you love — and a little something for yourself!  

 

Books, These Books Will Make The Best Gifts This Season

Tsarina by Ellen Alpsten

Ellen Alpsten’s Tsarina is a riveting, delicious escape into the world of Catherine the I, Tsarina of Russia. Bringing to life the sights and sounds of Imperial Russia, Alpsten’s fascinating story reveals the unforgettable woman who rose from poverty to power, going toe to toe with her husband, Peter the Great. Exactly the kind of decadent book I needed right now!  


Books, These Books Will Make The Best Gifts This Season

The Exiles by Christina Baker

I love everything Christina Baker Kline has written, and she has outdone herself with Exiles. It is the fascinating story of a little-known piece of 19th century history — female convicts exiled to a remote part of Australia, transported on retired slave ships. These resilient women, many of whom were imprisoned for over a decade for an offense as minor as stealing a silver spoon, faced harsh conditions, prejudice and injustice. I was completely transported and did not want this compelling novel to end.  


Books, These Books Will Make The Best Gifts This Season

The Brilliant Life of Eudora Honeysett by Annie Lyons

For readers of A Man Called Ove, The Brilliant Life of Eudora Honeysett is a heartfelt story about an elderly woman ready to embrace death and the little girl who reminds her what it means to live. Annie Lyons’ touching, thought-provoking novel is a gift. The way these characters rally around Eudora affected me in ways I couldn’t have imagined. I hugged the book when I finished! 


Books, These Books Will Make The Best Gifts This Season

The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue by V. E. Schwab

Impossible to fit into one genre, V.E. Schwab’s extraordinary novel takes readers on an unfortunate adventure across centuries and continents, as a young woman learns how far she will go to leave her mark on the world. Blending iconic periods in history with magic and romance, The Invisible Life of Addie Larue is an epic journey of love, loss, and memory. It is a unique story about the choices we make, the consequences of those choices on the people we love, and the lengths we will go to be remembered.  

For more book recommendations, click here.

Books, These Books Will Make The Best Gifts This Season
You May Also Like